The National Flag of the United Kingdom

The national flag of the United Kingdom, sometimes called the Union Jack, is made up of three crosses:

  • The Cross of Saint George (The Patron Saint of England)
  • The Cross of Saint Andrew (The Patron Saint of Scotland)
  • The Cross of Saint Patrick (The Patron Saint of Ireland)

The first Union Jack flag dates back to 1606 when the flags of England and Scotland were combined. Before that date, the countries of England and Scotland were independent countries. The present flag was created in 1801 when the Cross of Saint Patrick was added.